BESSEMER, ALABAMA CITY COUNCIL LEADS WAY TO UNITY DAY – SIGN TODAY!

The Bessemer, AL City Council has kept its promise to ensure progress.   The City is champoining its’ first Official Unity Day in history on February 28, 2014.

Led by Councilman David Vance, the Bessemer City Council voted  to approve the City’s Official Annual Unity Day to be celebrated on the last day of February each year.  Vance, representing the 1st District of Bessemer, also authored the “Pledge of Unity” with the assistance of City Council Attorney, Greg Harris (see below). Full details of the City of Bessemer, AL Official Annual Unity Day on Friday, February 28, 2014 will be posted as released.

CLICK HERE TO SIGN THE PLEDGE!

CLICK HERE TO SIGN THE PLEDGE!

CLICK HERE TO SIGN THE PLEDGE!

Pledge of Unity

City of Bessemer, Alabama

As a resident of the City of Bessemer, Alabama, I am committed to unity and harmony within our city.

I believe that every person has infinite worth as an individual.

I believe that every person is entitled to dignity and respect, regardless of race, color, religion, age, disability, ethnicity or gender.

I believe that every thought and every act of any type of prejudice is harmful to me as well as those in my community.

I have remorse for every thought, word or action that has divided or will divide our city.

Therefore, from this day forward, I will strive to eliminate all types of prejudice from my thoughts and actions.

I will strive to eliminate all forms of prejudice by others at every opportunity.

I will treat all people with dignity and respect.

I will strive to honor this pledge, knowing that the City of Bessemer will be better because of my effort; and I further pledge to do all things reasonable, necessary and within my power to bring about unity in my community; to work with others to bring about unity within our community; and to promote the cause of unity in our community.

2 thoughts on “BESSEMER, ALABAMA CITY COUNCIL LEADS WAY TO UNITY DAY – SIGN TODAY!

Leave a Reply

